Contributing to the Creative Commons

Creative Commons: Some Rights Reserved
Image via Wikipedia

I became a heavy user of  images with creative commons licenses when I first started posting content for my students on the web.  At some point, my heavy usage led to feelings of shame.  I realized that I was a free-loader and had contributed nothing.  I didn’t like the feeling, so I began uploading photos to Flickr.  This has assuaged my guilt some, though I am certain that I have used more photos than I have contributed.

Today I learned that someone is actually using one of my small contributions.  The photo (look in the top right corner) has many flaws, but it’s nice not to be a free-loader anymore.  (By the way, did you know that Godzilla had a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame?)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in about me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Contributing to the Creative Commons

  1. inpi says:

    Kimberly,
    I agree with you about contributing with our own photos with Creative Commons attribution. Although I have very few photos, I felt the same as you and also did the same.
    Now, some days ago, I decided to place all the work I wrote in my “class wiki” under Creative Commons, but I don’t know if it is enough to declare that my students work as well as some extracts from real Authors must not be included under such attribution.
    Ines

  2. @Ines – Do you make your students aware that the class wiki is being published under a Creative Commons license? Can they opt to publish under a Creative Commons license as well?

  3. inpi says:

    @Kimberly
    My young students are aware of what Creative Commons license means. I also had shown them how the exercises I had been writing for them were being used in other teacher’s blogs, even before adoption of this license.
    However, as they are under 13, I believe they can’t opt yet for this kind of license.
    Also, I’m still not sure if just by declaring that my students contributions aren’t published under Creative Commons, I’m protecting their work.
    Ines

Leave a Reply

