An End

Six years ago, I applied for a PhD program.  I wanted to further my ability to make a difference in the lives of children.  Also, I was comfortable in the university environment and didn’t want to leave.   I loved my coursework, I loved teaching college courses, and I loved working at the university’s Center for Teaching and Learning.  I was eager to do research.

Things changed a little when my son was born.  As I spent more time with him, I became less eager to do research, but I was still interested.  I plugged along and made slow, steady progress.  Then, when my daughter was born and died shortly after; I lost all interest in research.  Now it’s a year later and my interest in the kind of research I was doing for my dissertation hasn’t come back.  I’m interested in plenty of other things, but I no longer care about being a university professor.  I have finally admitted this to myself and officially ended my career as a doctoral student.  This decision is not without regret, but on the whole, I feel better having made it.

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An End

  1. benmcmurry says:

    I support your decision. We sure do miss you guys. Maybe you can talk Alison into moving to Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

