My Favorite Comment (Comment Challenge 22)

For today’s activity, you’re going to review comments you’ve previously received on your blog and highlight one or two of them in a post, explaining WHY you liked the comment(s). Were they thought-provoking? Did they ask a great question? Did they encourage you at a time when you needed it? Be sure to link back to your commenter’s blog if they have one.

My favorite comment came two days ago and you can read it here.   The commenter, Robin, happens to be my Aunt.  Part of the reason that I like the comment is the excitement of connecting with family.  Since I grew up in Maryland and all of my relatives lived in Rocky Mountain States or in California, I didn’t have a lot of contact with them.  Now that I live in Utah, we’re able to see each other more often, but not as often as we would like.  Reading each other’s blogs is a great way foster family togetherness.

Additionally, I liked Robin’s comment because she offered a non-edublogger’s perspective on commenting.  I also really appreciated that she gave me a suggestion of what she would like me to write about.  So, to take Aunt Robin’s advice . . .

I am moving to Charlottesville because my husband was offered a position at the University of Virginia.  (My fellow Hokies are weeping right now . . . sorry.)  I encouraged him to apply because I love the Maryland/Virginia region where I grew up and where my family still lives.  We will be about three hours away from my parents and my siblings.  Robb is excited about the new position and we both like the stability that it offers.  Charlottesville is a beautiful town and we are both excited about living there.  Moving will make finishing our degrees more complicated, but both my husband and I are “ABD”.  He’s likely to finish this fall and I should finish by either April or August of 2009.  We think this will be a good move for us.  However, we’re going to be very busy.

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in about me, edublogosphere and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

