Transferring knowledge gained in the comment challenge to the classroom

What lessons did you learn about what it means to “speak up” through comments that is applicable to working with students? What did you learn about how to deal with things like dissent, asking questions, communication, etc. through this process that might influence your teaching practices, either on or off-line?

Completing comment challenges required active participation.  Instead of scanning blogs and quickly moving onto the next one, I had to read a little more carefully, search for a conversation that would meet the requirements for a particular challenge.  As a result of this 31-day challenge, I’m thinking of creating  challenges for my students that would require them to participate in class discussion (online and off) at the same level of engagement.  I’ll have to ruminate for a while before I know exactly what I want to challenge students to do.  Any suggestions?

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in edublogosphere, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transferring knowledge gained in the comment challenge to the classroom

  1. Sue Waters says:

    This is the one task that has totally stumped me and I haven’t been able to work out how to approach. Will be interesting to see how you rstudents go with the concept of a challenge. What I have noticed from this Challenge and the 31 Days to Build a Better Blog is that tasks work well for some people and not for others.

    I like deadlines, goals and knowing I’m working towards a finish line that is achievable for me. So this works for me. Competitive sense of challenge also works well for some. Guessing at a few reasons why people might not like tasks but one of the main ones would be they don’t like to be constrained. However people who haven’t participated in the daily tasks have told me they have gained from the Challenge.

Leave a Reply

