One line professional development blog

Most of the bloggers that I follow use Twitter to a much greater extent than I do. In all honesty, I can barely claim to “use” Twitter at all; I think I only average about one tweet a week. I can see how Twitter can be a useful part of a personal learning network, but I haven’t gotten there yet.

A while ago, I came across a post on Michele Martin’s blog that suggested keeping a one-line professional development blog.  When I found it, I thought to myself, “This is a way I could use Twitter.”  I keep meaning to try it out, but I just haven’t made it a priority.  Really, what I need is a 30 day challenge for Twitter, so I’m going to try to challenge myself.  I’m going to commit to keeping a one line professional development blog using Twitter.   This week’s challenge is for consistency.  The goal is to tweet daily about something I accomplished related to my professional development.  If you are on Twitter and want to follow me, I’m “kamccollum”.  At the end of the week, I’ll reflect on my progress and see what I’ll come up with for the next challenge.

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in Professional Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One line professional development blog

  1. Andrea says:

    Kimberly,

    I think it would be fun to Twitter. I’m not on it, but maybe I should start. I already have a folder on my desktop labeled “stuff I am learning” and in it I keep word docs and other files with information that I would like to learn more about. During my free time I research those topics and keep on working through the files in this folder. Twitter would be a great way for me to stay in touch with you and to keep on motivating myself to learn something new each day. Great idea!

  2. Andrea,

    I would love to see you Twitter! Send me a tweet if you decide to join.

  3. Steve says:

    Kimberly,

    I’ve signed up to twitter, but I’m failing to see how it can be used or helpful. I would love to hear how you use it, and why you think it was made…

    Steve

  4. Steve,

    I am far from a power user of Twitter. In my opinion, of all the new technologies that I have found it is perhaps the most difficult to reap immediate rewards from Twitter. Why? Because for Twitter to have value, you have to actively connect yourself to a network of real people.

    In my case, I feel like I’ve joined Twitter more than once. The first time I signed up I felt like, “What”s the point?”; in all of my email and IM contacts only one other person was on Twitter. I left my Twitter account untouched for months after that.

    The second time I “joined” Twitter, came after reading several blog posts and a few articles in online publications on how useful Twitter could be. I took a leap of faith and tried some of the suggestions in the posts/articles.

    1. I decided not to feel like a stalker when I “followed” complete strangers who I only knew from blogs I had read.
    2. I started following anyone with a Twitter account who added me as a friend in Diigo or in a Ning social network.
    3. I scanned the friends/followers lists of the people I was following to get more people to follow.

    I only follow 90 or so people, so I could do a lot more of the above, but I think 90 is a good amount for someone who still has “training wheels” when it comes to Twitter.

    Now that I have a Twitter network, I have to admit that a lot of what I see out there is idle chatter. However, I’ve also come across some great links through Twitter that I probably would have missed otherwise. Even more importantly, I see other people with better developed Twitter networks having great conversations and getting questions answered in real time. To me, this is the real potential of Twitter. I keep hoping that if I put in the effort to be a contributing member of the Twitter community, eventually I might get some of my questions answered as well.

    Does that answer your question?

  5. Pingback: Reflections on Twitter « (No Longer) Alone in a Library

  6. Pingback: Bookmarks about Goal

Leave a Reply

