Pre-Week 1 Activities

I’m supposedly done with course work for my PhD, but still I signed up for two online courses this semester.   I’ll post about the course on New Media, Social Media, and Learning later this week.  Today I am completing the “Pre-Week 1 activities” for the Massive Open Online Course on Connectivism and Connected Knowledge.  This week’s task is to write an introduction including the following information:
  • Where you’re from
  • Why you’re interested in this course
  • What has to happen in order for you to consider this course a success
  • Random information about yourself – your work, your experience with networked technologies, etc.
So . . . I’m originally from Waldorf, Maryland, most recently from Provo, Utah, and currently residing in Charlottesville, Virginia.  I want to take the Connectivism and Connected Knowledge because I’m interested in the subject matter.  I’ve been reading about networks, networked learning, distance education, and open education; I want to learn more.  Also, I’m simply curious to see what a Massive Open Online Course experience really is.
For me to consider this course a success, two things have to happen.  One, I have to leave the course with enough of an understanding of the theory of connectivism to know whether or not I think it qualifies as a “learning theory”.  Two, the course needs to expose me to enough new ideas and stimulating discussions to hold my interest for 12 weeks.
Random information about myself?  Well, my job and experience with networked technology doesn’t seem like random information in this context.  They also seem one in the same.  Currently, I work as a graduate instructor for an online course on instructional technology.  I’m using a number of networked technologies in the course.  Now for some truly random facts about me.  I’ve driven on a sidewalk in New York City, I interned at the Scottish Parliament for a summer, and I leaned to knit from a DVD-Rom.

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in Graduate Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pre-Week 1 Activities

  1. Hi Kimberly,

    I think we can meet your first expectation – i.e. provide you with enough information to make your determination on connectivism as a theory or not. Keeping things new and exciting for 12 weeks…hmm…we’ll try🙂.

    Welcome and thanks for your intro.

    George

  2. I feel your PhD pain – I’m supposed to be doing the same thing but am involved with the course you’re talking about and another. I’m sure that these courses will help our PhD thinking though. Good luck.

  3. Pingback: More about me . . . « (No Longer) Alone in a Library

Leave a Reply

