PB Wiki Summer Camp

PBwiki summer camp badge

PBwiki summer camp badge

I have finally completed my last “Homework” Assignment for the PBwiki summer camp.  The summer camp was designed to help educators learn the basics of setting up and administering a PBwiki in six week’s time.  I didn’t learn much that I didn’t already know, but the scheduled assignments helped motivate me to set up my online course before the semester started.

I ended up making my summer camp wiki a much larger part of my online course than I was intending.  I was planning on using the wiki for one assignment, to have my students create a guide to online technologies that educators might find useful.  I ended up putting all of my assignments on the wiki as well.  If you visit the Teaching with Technology wiki now, you can see how I structured my online course (I’d appreciate feedback).  Hopefully, if you visit near the end of the semester, you will be able to find a student created guide to instructional technologies.  The guide is too big a task for my students to finish in a semester (really to ever finish), so I welcome outside help.  If you’d like to contribute a brief article, please let me know in the comments!

If you are an old hand at creating and using wikis, the summer camp probably wouldn’t do you much good as it is meant for novices.  However, I think the course is also very good for individuals who are familiar with wikis, and want to make a wiki a substantial part of their course, but just haven’t gotten around to it.  If that’s you, try signing up next summer.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in Teaching, Tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

