More about me . . .

I decided to take David Wiley’s New Media, Social Media and Learning course at BYU this semester even though I’ve recently moved two timezones away.  I signed up for the course because I spend most of my day, every day trying to learn about new media, social media, and learning and I figured taking a course from a “more knowledgeable other” might make the process more efficient.  

Assignment number 1 for the class is to write a blog post that provides a little information about myself and explains why I’m taking the course.  I just had to introduce myself for the connectivism course, so to avoid being redundant I’ll try to provide different random information about myself.

I won a story-telling contest in 8th grade.  I cannot stand the smell or taste of most cheeses because of an unfortunate experience with school pizza and cooked, buttered carrots in first grade.  For some reason, I can still eat buttered carrots.  The only rock concert that I have ever attended was a U2 concert in Dublin and I’m slightly concerned that my next concert experience may be a bit of a let down. 

I feel a little weird attending this class via distance because I’m the only student at a distance.  I know at least half the class members quite well, but the rest not at all.  Because I can’t see the rest of the class, I can’t watch for social cues to know when another speaker is truly finished or see if someone is just about to speak.  As a result, I always feel like I’m interrupting.

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in about me, Graduate Work, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More about me . . .

  1. David Wiley says:

    I hope you won’t always feel like you’re interrupting, but now I understand why we don’t hear so much from you. =) I’ll be looking forward to any insights you pick up in the Connectivism class, too.

  2. The feeling of interrupting is about 75% of my problem. 25% of the problem is because sometimes my connection gets so bad that I have no idea what was just said. I also need to try to find locations with better Internet connections. Things should get better as the semester progresses.

  3. Yetters says:

    Kim,

    About social cues…some of us are still trying to get to know those social cues with each other. We sit in a circle…a big circle. Perhaps you will be more keen to what is going on through the inflections you pick up in our voices—that can often be more telling than overt hand gestures meant to add power to a weak argument.

    Yvette

  4. @Yetters – I can hear the people near the mic very well and inflection will probably provide me with useful social cues. At the same time, I can barely make out syllables from the people at the far end of the room. I wonder if it would be possible to have multiple microphone inputs?

Leave a Reply

