Podcasting, screencasting, and video sharing

I’m a PC user.  I like spreadsheets.  I dislike the Mac user interface and I’m disappointed every time Windows tries harder to imitate it; I want to see my hierarchical file structure as soon as possible, thank you very much.  That said, Macs have at least one clear advantage over PCs–Garage Band.

This semester, I’ve provided my students with an video introduction to the course before switching to weekly slidecasts via SlideShare.net.  However, I wanted to try something different and expand my horizons, so I decided to try creating an enhanced podcast on a Windows machine.  Hah!  I followed a process described by Jake Ludington.  The process involved downloading additional Windows software (for free), creating a WMA file, and adding scripts to open webpages as you listen to the podcast.  It was a needlessly involved process for an inferior product.  Really, I didn’t want webpages, I just wanted a few pictures. After I was finished, I found a comment on this blog suggesting that Camtasia Studio can create enhanced podcasts on a Windows machine.  Camtasia Studio costs money.  However, I managed to download a free promotional version of Camtasia Studio 3 last year.  Maybe next week I’ll take another stab at producing a windows enhanced media podcast or maybe I’ll tackle screencasting.

This past week, my students collaborated on a wiki project to create a guide to various forms of educational technology for teachers.  One group covered podcasts.  They are still in the process of editing (and I’m sure would appreciate any assistance you could offer–I may have to adjust the page level security, or approve you to edit the wiki), but you might be interested in seeing what they’ve come up with so far.  For a week’s work in a one credit course, they’ve made some good progress.

Since I teach a distance education course, I found the (pdf) article “Reducing the Isolation and Promoting Inclusivity for Distance Learners Through Podcasting” interesting.  I found the article interesting from my perspective as a BYU graduate student finishing her degree at a distance.  I suspect that I’d find podcasts more beneficial than attempting to listen to a live class discussion via a Skype connection with a computer that lacks an external microphone (and can only capture the voices of the people right next to it).   Also, I wonder if LDS Church education employees would ever consider using podcasts to help strengthen connections with seminary and institute students in remote locations?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

About Kimberly McCollum

I'm a former middle and high school science teacher and current stay at home mom.
This entry was posted in Graduate Work, Teaching, Technology, Tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

